Peter Norbeck Visitor Center
The Peter Norbeck Visitor Center first opened its doors in 1934 as the Custer State Park’s museum.
Built by the Civilian Conservation Corps from Camp Pine Creek, the building is a historic landmark. It has seen several renovations over the years, the first in 1970 when it was designated a visitor center, again in 1995, 2000 and most recently in 2017.
The latest reincarnation of the building is designed to honor the historic structure and the educational foundation. In planning meetings, it was debated on potential themes for the new center and ultimately settled on the idea of younger visitors learning and exploring about Custer State Park. The goal of the building is to show kids how to explore, how to get outside and get dirty and how to use their imagination.
The grand re-opening of the Peter Norbeck Outdoor Education Center was September 17, 2017. The South Dakota Parks and Wildlife Foundation raised over $500,000 to renovate the Peter Norbeck Outdoor Education Center.
By the Numbers
Opened doors in
Amount raised for renovations